A Cool Needle in the Brain

brain scan

“Mythologies”

Susannah Maltz

wigleaf.

“Mythologies” is only 175 words. I counted every single one. Okay, I didn’t. I used word count. But I did read every single word, all 175, and here is what I think:

It’s a really great piece. Clever use of dialogue, great blend of interior (character’s mind) and exterior (scene) dynamics, delivered as a simple remember-when anecdote but with that substrate of complexity, of wild, far-out weirdness that transforms the conversation into something both disturbing and universal.

I won’t spoil much more than I already have, since the piece consists of only 175 words, carefully arranged like so many semantic needles in just the right way. I don’t want to over-discuss this piece, lest my breath disturb a single word-needle and the whole structure comes down with tiny whispered clicks onto the kitchen counter.

There is a needle in the story, too, which is why I did that whole metaphor just now.

It’s a great piece. Read it after you finish this sentence, which, when complete, will have brought this post up to 175 words.

Read the piece at wigleaf.

This entry was posted in Mainstream/Literary, Psychological and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

